the park and the old giant.

I happened to pass through that public park
triangle-shaped and
on the middle of a road

once
there lived a hut and a grumpy old man with one leg
in front of the park

he sat there all day
breaking stones and talking to his dogs
like a scary giant
guarding his land 

I remember my evenings in the park
sitting on that rusty old swing
with a toffee in my mouth

Now the hut was gone
and so was that old man

I happened to pass through that public park
now empty and scary

with swings painted new

Leave a Reply

